Committees/Interest Groups

Looking for a great way to get more involved in Metro Milwaukee SHRM and the profession? Join a committee or Special Interest Group (SIG)!  Committees are the backbone of our organization, providing us with support to our certification, educational conference, membership, and networking activities.  Special Interest Groups are focused groups whose members come together to share information about specific areas of the HR profession.

Each SIG holds monthly meetings from September through June.  Each is devoted to the sharing of best practices and the on-going development of the SIG members.  SIGs also provide a personal and email network for members to share ideas and ask questions.

Becoming a member of either a committee or a SIG provides an opportunity for leadership, career development, education, and networking. Listed below are the current SIGs and Committees:

Legislative

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
 SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Angela Novotney
amnovotney@aol.com

Leslie Berz
leslieberz@gmail.com

 

Suzanne Schwartz
suzanne.schwartz@ogletreedeakins.com
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.

Goal
To educate Metro Milwaukee SHRM members on pending and current legislation including judicial rulings on federal, state and local HR issues. To advance the profession by providing MMSHRM members the opportunities to influence the outcome of pending legislation and by providing a voice to legislators on work place issues.

Employment Practices

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
 SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Stella Terry, PHR, SHRM-CP
sterry@luminapt.com
Lumina Partners

Glenna Cose Brin, CPC
glenna@alliancestaff.com
AllianceStaff LLC

 

Brenda Barker
bbarker@hga.com
HGA Architects and Engineers

Goal
To provide a variety of resources with which to educate HR Professionals on employment practices of member organizations, including employee relations and employment law issues and trends.

Performance & Development

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
 SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Becky Schermer
bschermer@oakcreekwi.org
City of Oak Creek

Kathy Price
kathyprice@thenovogroup.com
The Novo Group

 

Lisa Raebel
lisaraebel@thenovogroup.com
The Novo Group

Goal
To serve the professional by being an information resource to Metro Milwaukee SHRM members on performance and development issues, and continually foster professional development within the committee membership. Also, to advance the profession by identifying key issues facing local businesses and offering resources to our members and the companies they serve. Grow the organization through networking at meetings and program offerings.

Talent Acquisition

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
 SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Sarah Fastner
sarah.fastner@bakertilly.com
Baker Tilly

Peggy Swenson
peggy.swenson@titustalent.com
Titus Talent

 

Amy Spahr, CPC, SHRM-CP
amy@extensionrecruiting.com
Extension, Inc.

Goal
To promote professional development via interaction with other Talent Acquisition professionals at monthly meetings and stay abreast of new recruitment tools, trends and strategies.

Total Rewards

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
 SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Brian Scott, CCP
brian.scott@kohls.com
Kohl’s

Brenda Baas
brendab0642@gmail.com

 

Christopher Seidling
CSeidling@gklaw.com
Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.

Goal
To provide educational programs in the areas of Compensation and Benefits for Metro Milwaukee SHRM members and to foster interaction among members with an interest in this area of the profession.

Workforce Diversity, Inclusion & Readiness

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Andy Gallion
andy@incheck.net
InCheck

Cheryl Brah
cheryl.brah@helwigcarbon.com
Helwig Carbon Products

 

Alvin Hill
ahill@mcfi.net
Milwaukee Center for Independence

 

Lindsey O’Connor
loconn@milwaukee.gov
City of Milwaukee

Goal
To provide technical expertise and program leadership on issues that impact workplace diversity, equal employment opportunity, fair employment laws, and affirmative action to Metro Milwaukee SHRM members.  In addition, to build bridges to the community so that Metro Milwaukee SHRM and its members are recognized as a potential source of jobs for people who benefit from workforce readiness training and events.

Certification Programs

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Kristine Tominsek, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
kristominsek@ursalogistics.com
Ursa Logistics

Dawn Miller
dmm627.dm@gmail.com
Coakley Brothers

 

Dawn Schicker
dawn@continuumhr.com
Continuum HR

 

Behlul Ferati
behlul.f@gmail.com

Goal
To promote professional development through the certification process with the objective of certifying as many members as possible.  The Committee plans and conducts two training programs each year (Spring and Fall), preparing members for the SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP examination.

HR Department of One

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Sue Becker, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
Sbecker@preceptorhc.com
Preceptor Health Care

Mindy Necci
mindy.necci@wageworks.com
WageWorks

 

Lisa Bergersen, JD, SPHR
bergersen@pewaukee.wi.us
City of Pewaukee

Goal
To address the unique need of those who have a unique need not based on their being a specialist, rather on their being a generalist.  To provide educational opportunities tailored to the needs of the member that is a one-person HR “Department” and to create a network of resources for these members to call upon for answers to their day-to-day questions. 

Membership/Young Member Engagement

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Bob Von Der Linn, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
rvonderlinn@earthlink.net
Change Leadership Resources, LLC

Jane Wucherer
jane@assocmgmtservices.com
MM SHRM

Melissa J. Engaldo, PHR, SHRM-CP
mengaldo@stay-lite.com
Stay-Lite Lighting, Inc

 

Goal
To broaden the reach of Metro Milwaukee SHRM and enhance programs and services to better encourage new member growth and member retention.  In addition, to provides a liaison between Metro Milwaukee SHRM and area universities keeping SHRM Student Chapters informed of activities related to the HR profession.

Conference/Event Planning

SIG/Committee-Board Liaison
SIG/Committee–Chairperson(s)

Jennifer Thoma
jthoma94@gmail.com

Jane Wucherer
jane@assocmgmtservices.com
MM SHRM

Goal
To provide networking activities that enhances the personal relationships within the association, the profession, and he community

 


 

The Metro Milwaukee SHRM Special Interest Groups (SIG) and Committees put on valuable programs that you won’t want to miss. Participation is a member-only feature and at the beginning of each month we send out a digest of programs being presented by each SIG in the weeks ahead.  There is no cost to be a member of a SIG and you can attend any program presented by any SIG at no charge to you.  Over the course of a year, our SIGs present more than 60 educational opportunities for our members!

Meet Our Gold Sponsors

<>